What is the Holy Bible?


Wednesday Bible Study


What is the Holy Bible?


The Holy Bible is actually a collection of books, the Bible is actually a library! The Holy Bible( that is the Protestant Bible) consists of sixty-six books. There are thirty nine books in the Old Testament and twenty-seven books in the New Testament. We have a new word here, that word testament means contract or promise. The Bible has two major divisions, the Old Testament and the New Testament. Both Testaments open with historical books and close with prophetic books.

The Old Testament contains the Law, that is the Ten Commandments and the Mosiac Law as found in the book of Leviticus, for example. The Old Testament also contains many promises of a Messiah beginning in the book of Genesis and continues giving that promise through the last book of the Old Testament, which is the minor prophet Malachi. The Law and the promise of a Messiah is the Old Contract. The New Testament is the fullfillment of the Old Contract. The four gospels (that word gospel means Good News!) are the accounts of the birth, life, death and resurrection of Jesus, who is the Christ. The Son of the living God. They also contain accounts of His ministry and the miracles that he performed. The book of Acts is a historical account of the early church. The Epistles, that word means letters, written by the Apsotle Paul and others to the early churches, are the foundation for modern day church doctrines. The book of Revelation is the only prophetic book in the New Testament and is also the last book of the entire canon of scripture.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s